Recipes and cocktails

Cocktails

In all your cocktails you can replace dark spirits with Armagnac from Château de Lacquy and clear spirits by Folle Blanche from Château de Lacquy. Here you have a selection of recipes created especially for Lacquy.

  • 4cl Folle Blanche du Château de Lacquy,
  • 2 cl homemade pear syrup,
  • 1cl almond milk,
  • 2cl lemon juice,
  • 1.5 cl strawberry basil sauce,
  • verjus foam coloured blue.

In a shaker ¾-filled with ice, put the Armagnac, the pear syrup, the almond milk, the lemon juice. Delicately add the strawberry sauce at the bottom of a vintage glass, then shake and filter into the glass and decorate with the verjuice foam.

  • 5 cl Armagnac du Château de Lacquy 12 years old,
  • 2 cl Dame de Pique,
  • 5 cl de Macvin du Jura with cardamom,
  • 2 dashes bitter du maquis,
  • 1 lemon zest,
  • 1 cardamom.

In a mixing glass ¾ filled with ice cubs, place all the ingredients. Mix delicately with a mixing spoon. Filter into the champagne glass, twist the lemon zest above the glass and embellish with the cardamom.

  • 10 cl Armagnac du Château de Lacquy 7 years old,
  • 20 cl artisan-made lemonade,
  • Cucumber peel,
  • Sprig of fresh mint,
  • Fresh ginger.

In a mixing glass place the cucumber peel and the ginger and crush at the bottom of the glass. Fill to ¾ with ice cubes, pour the Armagnac and the lemonade. Serve, decorate with mint leaves.

40ml grape eau de vie (I use Château de Lacquy’s Folle Blanche)
1 tsp vermouth – a good, aromatic one (I use St Raphaël Ambré, but the likes of The Collector would work well, too)
1 narrow twist unwaxed lemon zest, to garnish

Fill a chilled mixing glass with ice, pour in the eau de vie and vermouth, then stir gently at least 30 times (this helps to dilute the drink, which brings out more of its tones and flavours). Strain into a chilled glass, garnish with the lemon twist and serve.

Recipes

These recipes often feature the technique known as flambage. Flambage is a cooking process in which the alcohol is poured into a heated pan and catches on fire. This creates a special alchemy of the aromas, and requires a very good Armagnac. We recommend the 7 years of age from Château de Lacquy.

Flambage modifies the chemistry of a culinary preparation. Alcohol reaches a boil at 78°C, water boils at 100°C and sugar caramelises at 170°C. When all these elements combine and are flambéed this gives a complex chemical reaction where the surface of the burning alcohol exceeds 240°. The alcohol is both fuel and source of aromas. Depending on the recipe, flambage can be done in the pan, separately from the dish, by lighting the Armagnac heated in the pan and pouring the content over the dish, or by adding the Armagnac to the dish, bringing it to a boil and lighting the dish. We recommend using long matches to light the Armagnac. Avoid setting the kitchen on fire.

  • 750g monkfish
  • Olive oil
  • 2 tomatoes
  • Tomato paste
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Lemon zest
  • 1 glass of 7-year old Château de Lacquy Armagnac
  • 1 cup of bouillon
  • ½ litre Chardonay

Cut the monkfish into pieces. Dredge the pieces with flour and sauté 5 minutes in a pan, in the olive oil. When the pieces are lightly browned, pour half the glass of Armagnac and flambé. Remove from the heat, put the monkfish to the side.

In the same pan, put the finely-chopped onions and the whole clove of garlic. Add more oil if needed and a small amount of the bouillon. When the onions are translucent add the finely-chopped tomatoes, a teaspoon of tomato paste, salt, pepper, the lemon peel, the rest of the Armagnac, the wine and the bouillon. Cook over a low flame for 30 minutes.

Put the pieces of monkfish in the sauce and cook for 15 minutes. Check the seasoning, serve hot.

  • 4 wood pigeons,
  • Coarse salt, pepper,
  • Bard,
  • 1 glass of Armagnac,
  • bread

Pluck the feathers, singe and eviscerate 4 wood pigeons. Keep the liver, the gizzards and the hearts and put them back inside the wood pigeons.

Bard the wood pigeon, season with salt and pepper, roast them in a very hot oven for 40 minutes. Turn them and baste them during the roasting time. After 30 minutes, add water and deglaze the bottom of the pan, baste the wood pigeons.

Take the wood pigeons out of the oven. Chop the livers, gizzards and hearts and place on a toasted piece of bread. Pour the cooking juices over this. Place the whole wood pigeons in a serving dish with the toasted bread pieces. Pour the Armagnac into a saucepan, bring to a boil, light it and pour it flaming over the wood pigeons and the bread pieces, keep the flame alive by continuing to baste with the flaming juices. You need enough Armagnac to be able to keep the flame alive.

  • 2 free-range chickens cut into pieces,
  • Olive oil
  • salt, pepper,
  • 5 garlic cloves,
  • 1 glass of Armagnac,
  • ½ litre de vin de Chardonay,
  • 1 dl red or white wine vinegar,
  • 1 dl veal stock,
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste or 3 fresh tomatoes,
  • Several springs of tarragon (preferably fresh tarragon)
  • 4 egg yolks,
  • 2 dl crème fraîche,
  • 1 tablespoon of chervil, tarragon and parsley, mixed together.

Sauté the chicken pieces in the olive oil with the whole, unpeeled garlic cloves. Add the Armagnac, light on fire.

Deglaze with the Chardonnay, the wine vinegar, the veal stock, the fresh tomatoes cut into dice or the paste. Add the tarragon sprigs. This should fully cover the chicken pieces. Simmer for 30 minutes.

Remove the pieces. Scrape the bottom, bind with the egg yolks and the crème fraîche. Check the seasoning. At the last minute, place the chicken pieces back in this sauce and sprinkle the finely-chopped chervil, tarragon and parsley over the top.

  • 8 quail
  • Salt, pepper,
  • Olive oil
  • 10 cl Armagnac,
  • 2 clusters of Muscat grapes, or seedless light Sultana raisins,
  • Chicken stock.

If using raisins soak them in warm water with a dash of Armagnac for 5 hours. If using fresh grapes, place them in a colander and blanch them twice in a row to easily remove the skin. Remove the seeds.

Place the trussed quail (no bard required) in a cookpot that can go into the oven, or an earthenware cooking dish in which you have heated the olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Roast for 10 to 12 minutes in a very hot oven. Remove the trussing, put back in the pot with the raisins or grapes, and a little bouillon. Bring to a boil, pour a stream of Armagnac over the preparation, and serve warm straight from the cookpot.

For a large Baba cake for 6 persons (recipe by Alain Ducasse):

For the baba:

  • 500 g white flour
  • 17 g fresh baker’s yeast
  • 17 g honey
  • 4 g salt
  • 140 g softened butter
  • 500 g whole eggs, beaten

For the syrup:

  • 1 kg granulated sugar
  • 500 g water
  • Zest from one orange
  • Zest from one lemon
  • 1 vanilla bean, split
  • 20 cl Château de Lacquy 7 years old

In the mixing bowl, using the dough hook, place the flour, crumbled yeast, the salt (keep separate from the yeast), the honey, the softened butter and half the eggs.

Begin kneading slowly to read a smooth, homogenous stage. Increase the speed (4/5 on a KitchenAid) and slowly add the rest of the eggs, kneading well between each addition.

Continue kneading until the dough comes together away from the walls of the bowl and makes a “clacking” noise. This sound is very characteristic and the dough then becomes very elastic and voluminous. It makes the clacking sound as it detaches from the bowl. This easily takes between 15 and 25 minutes.

Then place the dough on a greased sheet and let it rest for 30 min.

Grease the baking moulds and fill to 2/3 with the dough. Use a pair of scissors to cut the dough for by now it is very dense!

Let rise for 30 to 45 min in a warm place until the dough rises to the top of the moulds.

Then bake for 15 to 20 minutes at 180 C° until golden brown.

Place the granulated sugar and the water in a pot over a medium flame. Add the lemon and orange zests and the split, scraped vanilla bean. Heat, then bring to a boil, lower the flame and add the Armagnac. Remove from the heat and cool.

Don’t hesitate to pour some Armagnac over the Baba cake itself.

recettes et cocktails

le guide de l'armagnac

Recettes et cocktails

Cocktails

Dans tous vos cocktails vous pouvez remplacer les alcools bruns par l’armagnac du Château de Lacquy ou les alcools blancs par la Folle Blanche du Château de Lacquy. Voici quand même quelques recettes créée pour Lacquy.

  • 4cl de Folle Blanche du Château de Lacquy,
  • 2 cl de sirop de poire maison,
  • 1cl de lait d’amande,
  • 2cl de jus de citron jaune,
  • 1,5 cl de coulis de fraise et basilic,
  • Écume de verjus colorée bleu.

Dans un shaker rempli au ¾ de glaçons, mettre l’armagnac, le sirop de poire, le lait d’amande, le jus de citron. Shaker et servir en filtrant dans une coupe vintage. Ajouter délicatement le coulis de fraise au fond du erre et décorer avec l’écume de verjus.

  • 4,5 cl d’armagnac du Château de Lacquy 12 ans,
  • 2 cl de Dame de Pique,
  • 1,5 cl de Macvin du Jura à la cardamone,
  • 2 dashes de bitter du maquis,
  • 1 zeste de citron jaune,
  • 1 cardamone.

Dans un verre à mélange rempli au ¾ de glaçons, mettre l’ensemble des ingrédients. Mélanger délicatement avec un cuillère à mélange. Servir en filtrant dans une coupe, exprimer le zeste au desuus du verre et décorer avec la cardamone.

  • 10 cl d’armagnac du Château de Lacquy 7 ans,
  • 20 cl de limonade artisanale,
  • Peau de concombre,
  • Branche de menthe fraîche,
  • Gingembre frais.

Dans un verre à mélange, mettre la peau de concombre et le gingembre et les écraser au fond du verre. Remplir au ¾ de glaçons, mettre l’armagnac et la limonade et servir en décorant avec les feuilles de menthe.

40ml grape eau de vie (I use Château de Lacquy’s Folle Blanche)
1 tsp vermouth – a good, aromatic one (I use St Raphaël Ambré, but the likes of The Collector would work well, too)
1 narrow twist unwaxed lemon zest, to garnish

Fill a chilled mixing glass with ice, pour in the eau de vie and vermouth, then stir gently at least 30 times (this helps to dilute the drink, which brings out more of its tones and flavours). Strain into a chilled glass, garnish with the lemon twist and serve.

Recettes de cuisine

Ces recettes utilisent souvent le procédé du flambage. Le flambage est un processus de cuisson dans lequel de l’alcool est versé dans une casserole chauffée pour se consumer en flammes. Il se crée alors une alchimie entre les arômes. Il faut donc un très bon armagnac. Nous recommandons le 7 ans du Château de Lacquy.
Le flambage modifie la chimie du plat. L’alcool bout à 78 ° C, l’eau à 100 ° C et le sucre caramélise à 170 ° C. Flamber tous ces éléments combinés donne une réaction complexe chimique où la surface de l’alcool qui brûle dépasse 240 °. Celui-ci est à la fois carburant et fournisseur d’arômes.
Selon les recettes, le flambage peut se faire soit dans une casserole à part, en enflammant l’armagnac bouillant dans la casserole et en versant le contenu dans le plat, soit en ajoutant l’armagnac dans le plat, en le portant à ébullition et en l’enflammant dans le plat. Il faut utiliser des allumettes de préférence longues pour mettre le feu. Évitez de mettre le feu à la cuisine.

  • 750g de lotte
  • Huile d’olive
  • 2 tomates
  • Sauce tomate concentrée
  • Oignon
  • Ail
  • Sel
  • Poivre
  • Zeste de citron
  • 1 verre d’armagnac Château de Lacquy 7 ans
  • 1 verre de bouillon
  • ½ litre de chardonay

Couper la lotte en morceaux. Fariner les morceaux et faites les revenir 5 minutes dans un fait-tout dans l’huile d’olive. Quand les morceaux sont dorés, mettre la moitié du verre d’armagnac et flamber. Retirer du feu. Mettre les morceaux de lotte à part.

Dans le fait-tout, mettre les oignons coupés finement et la gousse d’ail entière. Rajouter de l’huile si nécessaire et un peu de bouillon. Quand les oignons sont translucides ajouter les tomates coupées finement, une cuillère de sauce tomate concentrée, le sel le poivre, le zeste de citron, le reste d’armagnac, le vin et le bouillon. Laisser cuire à feu doux pendant 30 minutes.

Remettre les morceaux pendant 15 minutes. Vérifier l’assaisonnement, servir chaud.

  • 4 palombes,
  • Gros sel, poivre,
  • Bardes,
  • 1 verre d’armagnac,
  • pain

Plumer, flamber, vider 4 palombes. Conserver les foies, les gésiers et les cœurs et les remettre dans les palombes.

Barder les palombes, saler et poivrer, les mettre à four très chaud pendant 40 minutes. Pendant la cuisson les retourner, les arroser. Au bout de 30 minutes, ajouter de l’eau et gratter le fond du plat, tout en arrosant les palombes.

Sortir les palombes du four. Hacher les foies, gésiers et cœurs, les mettre sur un crouton de pain arrosé de jus. Dresser les palombes entières dans un plat avec les croutons. Mettre l’armagnac dans une casserole, le porter à ébullition, l’enflammer, et le verser enflammé sur les palombes et les croutons, entretenir la flamme en arrosant les palombes avec le jus enflammé. Il faut suffisamment d’armagnac pour réussir à maintenir le feu.

  • 2 poulets fermiers de grain coupés en morceaux,
  • huile d’olive,
  • sel, poivre,
  • 5 gousses d’ail,
  • 1 verre d’armagnac,
  • ½ litre de vin de Chardonay,
  • 1 dl de vinaigre de vin rouge ou blanc,
  • 1 dl de fond de veau,
  • 1 cuillerée de tomate concentrée, ou 3 tomates fraîches,
  • 1 bouquet d’estragon frais de préférence,
  • 4 jaunes d’œuf,
  • 2 dl de crème fraîche,
  • 1 cuillerée à soupe de cerfeuil, estragon, persil mélangés.

Faire sauter dans l’huile d’olive les volailles découpées en morceaux, avec les gousses d’ail entières non épluchées. Ajouter l’armagnac, flamber.

Déglacer avec le Chardonay, le vinaigre de vin,, le fond de veau, la tomate fraîche en petits morceaux ou concentrée. Ajouter le bouquet d’estragon. Les morceaux de poulet doivent être immergés dans le jus. Laisser cuire 30 minutes.

Retirer les morceaux. Fouler le fond, le lier aux jaunes d’œufs et à la crème. Vérifier l’assaisonnement. Au dernier moment remettre les morceaux de poulet et parsemer d’estragon, cerfeuil et persil finement hachés.

  • 8 cailles
  • Sel, poivre,
  • Huile d’olive
  • 10 cl d’armagnac,
  • 2 grappes de raisins muscat, ou des raisins sec sultana blanc sans pépins,
  • Bouillon de poule.

Préparer les raisins secs en les laissant tremper dans de l’eau chaude avec un filet d’armagnac pendant 5 heures, ou, si vous avez des muscats frais, les ébouillanter placés dans une passoire, deux fois de suite jusqu’à ce que la peau s’enlève facilement. Les épépiner.

Mettre les cailles troussées (inutile de les barder) dans un fait-tout qui aille au four ou une casserole de terre dans laquelle on aura fait chauffer l’huile d’olive. Les assaisonner de sel et poivre. Les cuire pendant 10 à 12 minutes à four très chaud. Les débrider, les remettre dans la casserole, avec les raisins, et un peu de bouillon. Faire chauffer jusqu’à ébullition, arroser d’un filet d’armagnac, servir chaud dans la casserole.

Pour un gros Baba pour 6 personnes (recette Alain Ducasse):

Pour le baba :

  • 500 g de farine T55
  • 17 g de levure de boulanger fraîche
  • 17 g de miel
  • 4 g de sel
  • 140 g de beurre mou
  • 500 g d’œufs entiers battus

Pour le sirop :

  • 1 kg de sucre semoule
  • 500 g d’eau
  • le zeste d’une orange
  • le zeste d’un citron
  • 1 gousse de vanille fendue
  • 20 cl de Château de Lacquy 7 ans

Mettre dans la cuve du batteur équipée du crochet, la farine, la levure émiettée, le sel (qui ne doit pas toucher la levure), le miel, le beurre mou et la moitié des oeufs.

Commencer à pétrir doucement jusqu’à l’obtention d’une pâte lisse et homogène. Monter un peu la vitesse (4/5 sur KitchenAid) et ajouter petit à petit les oeufs en laissant bien pétrir entre chaque ajout.

Laisser alors le batteur tourner et pétrir jusqu’à ce que votre pâte de détache des parois et « claque ». Le bruit est très caractéristique, la pâte devient très très élastique et prend beaucoup de corps et elle claque en se détachant des parois. Cela prend facilement entre 15 et 25 min.

Débarrasser alors votre pâte sur une plaque huilée et laisser la reposer 30 min.

Graisser vos différents moules et les remplir au 2/3 avec la pâte. Prenez une paire de ciseau pour la découper car elle est vraiment très dense à ce moment !

Laisser gonfler alors pendant 30 à 45 min dans un endroit chaud jusqu’à ce que la pâte atteigne le haut des moules.

Cuire alors 15 à 20 min à 180 C° jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient bien dorés.

Mettre le sucre semoule et l’eau dans une casserole à feu doux. Ajouter les zestes de citron et d’orange et la gousse de vanille fendue et grattée. Laisser chauffer et porter à ébullition, baisser le feu et ajouter l’armagnac. Retirer du feu et laisser refroidir.

N’hésitez pas à rajouter de l’armagnac sur le Baba.