The estate lies at 120 meters altitude, at the edge of the Landes forest and the sloping hillsides of the Gers area, at the very heart of the region known as the “Grand-Bas-Armagnac” or “Armagnac Noir” due to the prolific oak forests with their dense foliage, and renowned for the exceptional finesse of its Armagnacs.

The area has an oceanic climate and is generally mild and humid. Though the weather is influenced and tempered by the nearby Atlantic Ocean, summers can be very hot and there can be violent storms.  Average temperatures in winter vary from a minimum of 0°C to a maximum of 11°C. Summer temperatures vary from a minimum of 15°C to a maximum of 28°C. Despite these averages, temperatures of -10°C in winter and 38°C in summer occur frequently.

Average rainfall varies from 50mm in July to 100mm in October and comes to an annual average around 1000 mm. There can be a 30°C difference between morning and afternoon temperatures in the summer which gives rise to violent storms. Dominant winds come from the West. There are north-westerly breezes in summertime and in the spring, southern winds can carry sands from the African desert.

Le Château de Lacquy

Le climat

Le domaine est situé à 120 m d’altitude, à la limite de la forêt landaise et des coteaux du Gers, au cœur de la région surnommée le « Grand-Bas-Armagnac » ou « Armagnac Noir » en raison de l’abondance de bois de chênes au feuillage sombre et renommée pour la finesse exceptionnelle de ses armagnacs.

Son climat océanique, doux et humide est influencé et tempéré par l’océan Atlantique proche, mais peut connaître de grandes chaleurs l’été et de violents orages. Les températures moyennes les mois d’hiver varient de 0°C (minimum) à 11°C (maximum) et l’été entre 15°C (minimum) et 28°C (maximum) mais il est fréquent d’avoir des températures de -10°C l’hiver et de 38°C l’été.

La pluviométrie moyenne varie de 50mm en juillet à 100mm en octobre avec une moyenne annuelle de l’ordre de 1000 mm. Les contrastes thermiques l’été peuvent atteindre 30°C entre le matin et l’après-midi et engendrer de violents orages. Les vents dominants sont de secteur ouest avec, l’été, des brises de nord-ouest et au printemps des phénomènes de vent du sud portant des sables africains.