Château de Lacquy

The Château de Lacquy estate lies in Gascony, approximately 110 kilometres south of Bordeaux, in the Landes area of Gascony known as Bas-Armagnac. Owned by the same family since 1711, Château de Lacquy is the oldest family-owned estate producing Armagnac. Run for over 300 years by successive generations of men and women who are passionate about their calling, the estate is a veritable journey in time due to this remarkable stability and continuity.

The estate has remained intact since the Middle Ages. It passed from the hands of one powerful Gascony family into the hands of another remained in the possession of the Mesmes family until 1668, then the Pontac family (owners of Château Haut-Brion) until 1711.

Today, the estate covers approximately 400 hectares of adjoining land. Vineyards growing the grapes that produce the Armagnac cover twenty-two hectares of land.

The estate has always maintained a tradition of excellence and pursues the same demanding standard today. Every single step in the process of making the Armagnac, from tending the grapevines to making the wine, distillation, ageing and bottling, is performed on the estate in the tradition that is over three centuries old.

Le Château de Lacquy

Le domaine du Château de Lacquy est situé en Gascogne à environ 110 km au sud de Bordeaux, dans la partie landaise de l’appellation « Bas-Armagnac ». Propriété de la même famille depuis 1711, il est le plus ancien domaine familial producteur d’armagnac. Cultivé depuis le XVIIIème siècle par des générations successives d’hommes et de femmes passionnés, le domaine nous permet de faire un véritable voyage dans le temps grâce à cette stabilité et cette continuité exceptionnelles.

Depuis le Moyen-Âge le domaine a conservé son emprise territoriale, passant dans les mains de plusieurs grandes familles gasconnes, dont les Mesmes jusqu’en 1668, puis les Pontac (propriétaires de Château Haut-Brion) jusqu’en 1711.

Il a aujourd’hui une superficie d’environ 400 ha d’un seul tenant, dont 22 ha de vignes consacrées à la production d’armagnac.

Le domaine poursuit sa tradition d’excellence en réalisant sur place l’intégralité du processus de production de l’armagnac, de la culture de la vigne à la production de vin, de la distillation, au vieillissement et à la mise en bouteille, dans une tradition tricentenaire.